3 days in Cambodia

Alvin Aguilar – one of my previous officemates (in the Philippines) once quoted from St Augustine — ‘The world is a book, and those who don’t travel only read one page.”

Who say that traveling/going abroad is expensive and travelers need to know English?
I spent just (more than) 100 USD for my 3 days trip to Cambodia, and I visited both Phnom Penh and Siem Reap.

Even if someone doesn’t speak English, the round trip bus ticket from HCMc to Phnom Penh is just around 20USD. Going there to visit for a while, bring food and water with you, then go back by the same bus, you don’t really need to speak English or spend too much to be in another country. 🙂

Alvin Aguilar – một trong những đồng nghiệp cũ của mình (ở Philippines) đã từng trích dẫn từ Thánh Augustine – “Thế giới là một cuốn sách và những người không đi du lịch chỉ mới đọc một trang.

Ai nói là đi nước ngoài đắt đỏ và cần biết tiếng Anh?

Thậm chí nếu không nói được tiếng Anh, vé xe khách 2 chiều từ TPHCM đi Phnom Penh chỉ khoảng 20 USD. Đi đến đó xem một lúc, mang theo đồ ăn, nước uống, rồi trở về bằng xe cũ, bạn không nhất thiết cần phải biết tiếng Anh hay tiêu quá nhiều tiền để sang một nước khác.

I went to Cambodia alone for a very short trip starting Jun 21 until Jun 23. I really didn’t plan or expect too much, just a getaway works for me. And once my foot touch to the soil of Cambodia, I already felt the trip is successful.

Mình đến Campuchia một mình từ ngày 21/06 đến ngày 23/06. Mình đã không dự định hay mong đợi gì quá nhiều, chỉ cần đặt chân lên đất Campuchia, mình đã cảm thấy chuyến đi thành công.

Jun 21:

I travelled with The Sinh Tourist, they provided a professional service, a pleasant trip with the most reasonable price. As listed on their website and office, it’s 189,000 VND/person for one way. But in actual, they just collected 159,000 VND from me.

I arrived at their office (no. 246-248, De Tham street, District 1, HCMc) by 6:15am, paid for my ticket and get in the bus by 6:30am. The bus doesn’t have wifi, bottled water and tissue were given for free.

Mình đi bằng xe của The Sinh Tourist, dịch vụ của họ chuyên nghiệp, chuyến đi khá dễ chịu với giá cả hợp lý. Trên website và trong văn phòng của họ, giá vé ghi là 189,000/người cho một chiều. Nhưng trên thực tế, họ chỉ thu 159,000 của mình.

Mình đến văn phòng của họ (số 246-248 Đề Thám, Quận 1) lúc 6:15 sáng, mua vé và lên xe lúc 6:30. Xe không có wifi, mỗi khách được một chai nước và khăn ướt miễn phí.

The bus arrived at Moc Bai border point, Tay Ninh province by 8:40am, I paid 20,000 VND processing fee. By 9:15am, the bus left Bavet border point of Cambodia to go to Phnom Penh.

My first impression about Phnom Penh is that it looks like something mixed between Vietnam and Laos.
The houses, streets look like Vietnam with lots of motorbikes (but there are more people don’t wear helmet than in Vietnam).
The architecture of temples and ancient houses, look like in Laos, although the “yellow color” is lighter than in Laos.

Xe đến cửa khẩu Mộc Bài, Tây Ninh lúc 8:40 sáng, mình trả 20,000 tiền phí tại cửa khẩu. Lúc 9:15, xe rời cửa khẩu Bavet, Campuchia để đi tới Phnom Penh.

Ấn tượng đầu tiên của mình về Phnom Penh là trông giống như trộn lẫn giữa Việt Nam và Lào.
Nhà cửa, đường sá trông giống Việt Nam với nhiều xe máy (nhưng có nhiều người không đội mũ bảo hiểm hơn là ở Việt Nam).
Kiến trúc của đền chùa và những nhà lâu năm thì lại giống Lào, mặc dù “màu vàng” ở đây nhạt hơn ở Lào.

The bus arrived at Mao Tse Tong boulevard of Phnom Penh by noon time (stop at Tonle Bassac restaurant). I didn’t know what to do at that time. Luckily, at the starting of the trip, I talked with two French who were on same bus, I saw them again and asked them if I can go with them (to share the tuk tuk ride to the center). And after that moment, we became a team.

The tuk tuk ride was 3USD for 3 people. We went to Giant Ibis office to book our ticket to go to Siem Reap that night. The fare is 15USD/person and there are 3 choices of departure time: 10:30pm, 11pm, 11:30pm. We selected 11:30pm since we didn’t want to arrive too early in the morning.

In Cambodia, both USD and Riel (Cambodia currency) can be used, sometimes I even can spend Vietnam Dong. Exchange rate is around: 1USD = 4000 Riel, 1000 Riel = 5000 Vietnam Dong.

Xe đến đường Mao Tse Tong ở Phnom Penh vào buổi trưa (dừng tại nhà hàng Tonle Bassac). Lúc đó mình không biết làm gì. May thay, trước khi lên xe bus mình có nói chuyện với 2 người Pháp đi cùng xe, rồi mình thấy họ và hỏi họ nếu mình có thể đi cùng (để chia tiền đi xe tuk tuk đến khu trung tâm). Và sau đó, bọn mình thành một đội.

Giá chuyến xe tuk tuk là 3USD cho 3 người. Bọn mình đến văn phòng hãng xe Giant Ibis để đặt vé đi Siem Reap tối hôm đó. Giá vé là 15USD/người và có 3 lựa chọn giờ khởi hành: 10:30 tối, 11h tối và 11:30 tối. Bọn mình chọn 11:30 vì không muốn đến nơi vào sáng sớm quá.

Ở Campuchia, có thể sử dụng cả Đô la Mỹ và đồng Riel (tiền tệ của Campuchia), thỉnh thoảng mình còn tiêu được tiền Việt. Tỉ giá quy đổi khoảng: 1USD = 4000 Riel, 1000 Riel = 5000 Vietnam Dong.

We left our things at Giant Ibis office, get another tuk tuk ride (3USD for 3 people) to Toul Sleng Genocide Museum.

We had lunch at a restaurant nearby there then visited the museum. Entrance ticket was 3USD per person. This museum is a former high school, then was used by Red Khmer as a Prison. The thing which caught my most attention when visiting the Museum was when I saw a girl standing on her right foot, her left foot was putting on her right knee, and watching the pictures. She looked naturally and very comfortable, made me remember my Yoga class. I asked her if how can she standing so easy like that and we had a great conversation. Unfortunately, I didn’t ask for her contact info and I regretted about that. So if anyone knows an American girl whose name is Kalina, who usually standing on one foot only, please inform me!

Chúng tôi để nhờ hành lý tại văn phòng của Giant Ibis, rồi thuê một xe tuk tuk khác (3USD cho 3 người) để đi tới Bảo tàng Toul Sleng Genocide.

Chúng tôi ăn trưa tại một nhà hàng gần đó và sau đó vào thăm bảo tàng. Vé vào cửa là 3USD/người. Bảo tàng này là một trường trung học cũ, sau đó được Khmer Đỏ dùng làm nhà tù. Điều làm tôi chú ý nhất khi thăm Bảo tàng là khi tôi thấy một cô gái đứng trên chân phải, bàn chân trái đặt trên đầu gối chân phải. Trông cô ấy rất tự nhiên và thoải mái, làm mình nhớ đến lớp Yoga của mình. Mình hỏi cô ấy sao cô ấy có thể đứng dễ dàng vậy, và rồi bọn mình có một cuộc trò chuyện thú vị. Thật không may, mình không hỏi thông tin liên hệ của cô ấy và mình hối hận về điều đó. Vì vậy nếu có ai biết một cô gái người Mỹ tên là Kalina, thường đứng trên một chân, hãy cho mình biết!

About my companion, Solina – she is a 29 y/o French girl, a medical student, and about to be a doctor. Her brother, Jordan, 27 y/o, graduated law and is working in French government to build houses for poor people. Jordan loves hockey and is a semi professional hockey player. As he told me, if he could choose again, he would choose to become a professional hockey player. Their mother is VNese who left VN since she was 17 y/o. (After our two days together, one thing I experienced more and more is “Grass always looks greener from other side”)

Về bạn đồng hành của mình, Solina – 29 tuổi, sinh viên y khoa sắp trở thành bác sĩ. Em trai chị ấy, Jordan – 27 tuổi, tôgs nghiệp ngành Luật và đang làm việc trong một dự án xây nhà cho người nghèo của cơ quan chính phủ Pháp. Jordan thích chơi bóng chày, và là vận động viên bóng chày bán chuyên nghiệp. Em ấy bảo mình là, nếu được lựa chọn lại, em ấy sẽ chọn để trở thành vận động viên bóng chày chuyên nghiệp. Họ có mẹ là người Việt Nam, nhưng đã di cư khỏi VN từ năm 17 tuổi. (Sau 2 ngày đi cùng nhau và trò chuyện, một điều mà mình trải nghiệm nhiều hơn là “Cỏ luôn trông xanh hơn từ một phía khác”)

We got another tuk tuk ride (same price) to go back to Royal Palace. Entrance ticket to visit the Royal Palace was 25,000 Riel. Just a reminder for visitor(s), you should dress properly, Solina had to buy a 3USD dress to wear to be able to enter the Royal Palace, since she was wearing short.

The Royal Palace is huge, Sulina read her French lonely planet book to Jordan, then translate to me.

Chúng tôi lại thuê xe tuk tuk (cùng giá) để đi về Hoàng Cung Campuchia. Vé vào cửa thăm Hoàng Cung là 25,000 Riel. Khách tham quan nên mặc đồ phù hợp, Solina phải mua một váy quàng giá 3USD để có thể vào thăm Hoàng Cung, vì chị ấy mặc quần ngắn.

Hoàng Cung khá rộng lớn, Sulia đọc thông tin từ sách Lonely Planet bằng tiếng Pháp cho Jordan, rồi lại dịch lại cho mình.

When we were walking toward Silver Pagoda, I talked with a monk named Pha Sophorn. He was a monk for 10 years (since 12 years old). He was with his older sister, his friend and some other relatives. It surprised me when they told me that his sister is mother-in-law of his friend who is … also in costume of a monk. They laughed a lot with my surprise. After a while, they told me that, in Cambodia, before getting married, the man normally becomes a monk for a period of time. It can be one day, two days, weeks, months or years up to what he wants. And this guy was a monk for 7 years. He is studying International Relation. His wife-to-be is still a high school student, once she graduated University, they will get married.

Khi chúng tôi đang đi tới Chùa Bạc, tôi nói chuyện với một nhà sư tên là Pha Sophorn, đã thành sư được 10 năm (từ năm 12 tuổi). Em ấy đi cùng với chị gái, một người bạn và một vài họ hàng khác. Tôi đã ngạc nhiên khi được biết chị gái của sư là mẹ vợ của người bạn đi cùng mà … cũng trong trang phục một vị sư. Họ đã cười rất nhiều trước ngạc nhiên của tôi. Một lúc sau, họ kể với tôi là, ở Campuchia, trước khi kết hôn, thông thường người đàn ông sẽ đi tu một thời gian. Có thể là 1 ngày, 2 ngày, tuần, tháng hoặc hàng năm, phụ thuộc vào ý muốn của người đó. Và người này đã thành sư được 7 năm, đang theo học ngành Quan hệ Quốc tế. Vợ tương lai vẫn đang là học sinh trung học phổ thông, khi nào cô ấy tốt nghiệp Đại học, họ sẽ kết hôn.

We walked to the Garden in front of the Royal Palace. There was a celebration for the Day of Yoga attracted thousand of people join. Anyone can join it for free, they just need to register. This is an activity organized by Smart (a telephone service provider), Indian Embassy and Ministry of Tourism. We were then sitting and laying down on the grass, watching the sky or activities of people nearby, just enjoy the local atmosphere.

Chúng tôi đi bộ tới Quảng trường phía trước Hoàng Cung. Tại đó đang diễn ra Ngày hội Yoga thu hút hàng ngàn người tham gia. Ai cũng có thể tham gia miễn phí, chỉ cần ghi lại thông tin đăng ký. Hoạt động này được tổ chức bởi Smart (một nhà cung cấp dịch vụ viễn thông), Đại sứ quán Ấn Độ và Bộ Du lịch. Sau đó chúng tôi ngồi xuống cỏ, có lúc nằm xuống, ngắm nhìn bầu trời và hoạt động của mọi người xung quanh, tận hưởng không khí cuộc sống địa phương.

We walked back to discover the Night Market. In my experience, the Night Market here is almost the same with the Night Market in Vietnam or Laos. The food section might be different. I ordered a chicken noodle for 1.5USD and it’s our first time to experience sitting on mat to eat in public (instead of tables and chairs). The good thing is they gave us a free salad and I quite like it.

Rồi chúng tôi đi bộ trở lại để khám phá Chợ Đêm. Trong ký ức của tôi, Chợ Đêm ở đây khá giống với chợ đêm ở Việt Nam hay Lào. Khu vực đồ ăn có khác một chút. Tôi gọi một tô phở gà giá 1.5USD và đó là lần đầu tiên chúng tôi trải nghiệm ngồi trên chiếu giữa chốn đông người để ăn (thay vì bàn và ghế). Chúng tôi có một đĩa rau sống trộn miễn phí và tôi thích nó.

The only thing which I can buy from here and hopefully that’s really a product of Cambodia is krama scarves. I paid 7USD for 3 pieces.

Thứ duy nhất mà tôi có thể mua tại đây và hy vọng là nó thật sự là sản phẩm của Campuchia là khăn rằn. Tôi trả 7USD cho 3 cái khăn.

We saw a store which at first I thought it’s a place for people to play lotto. But not, guess what’s that? That is a place which selling sim card for phone. The price of the sim depends on the number is “beautiful” or not.

Then we went back to Giant Ibis office to take our 11:30pm bus ride to Siem Reap. I chose bottom/lower bed since I’ve read somewhere that the top/higher bed is much colder. I wore a sweater, together with the blanket on the sleeping bus, made my bus ride perfect. There is a socket to charge my phone, free bottled water and tissue. Opposite to some comments, advices on Trip Advisor, I found my stay in sleeping bus at night of Giant Ibis is comfortable (maybe I’m an easy-going person).

Chúng tôi thấy một gian hàng mà lúc đầu tôi nghĩ đó là nơi mà mọi người chơi xổ số. Nhưng không, đoán xem nó là gì? Đó là gian hàng bán sim điện thoại. Giá của sim phụ thuộc vào số có “đẹp” hay không.

Rồi chúng tôi quay về văn phòng Giant Ibis để đi Siem Reap lúc 11:30 tối. Tôi chọn giường dưới vì tôi đã đọc ở đâu đó là giường trên thường bị lạnh hơn. Tôi mặc một áo khoác, đắp chăn trên xem và có một chuyến xe hoàn hảo. Trên xe có ổ điện để sạc điện thoại, nước đóng chai và khăn ướt miễn phí. Trái ngược với một số ý kiến, lời khuyên trên Trip Advisor, tôi thấy đi xe giường nằm đêm của Giant Ibis khá dễ chịu (có thể là tôi dễ tính).

Jun 22:

We arrived at Siem Reap by 5:30am. Sulina and Jordan booked a room at The Purple Mangosteen Hotel and their early check in request was accommodated. We hired a tuk tuk 3USD for 3 people to the Hotel.

We hired the tuk tuk again, 5USD/person to go to Angkor Wat. Jordan and Solina wanted to rent a motorbike, however it’s not allowed to ride to the Angkor, just within the town. And there isn’t bike for rent around Angkor.

We got into a restaurant near Angkor Wat, and I had my first Cambodian national dish: Fish curry for 3.5USD.

Chúng tôi đến Siem Reap lúc 5:30 sáng. Sulina và Jordan đặt một phòng tại khách sạn The Purple Mangosteen (Quả Măng cụt Tím) và đề nghị check in sớm được tiếp nhận. Chúng tôi thuê xe tuk tuk giá 3USD cho 3 người để đến khách sạn.

Chúng tôi thuê xe tuk tuk lần nữa, 5USD/người để đi tới chùa Angkor. Jordan và Solina muốn thuê xe máy, tuy nhiên xe không được phép đi đến Angkor, chỉ được đi trong thị trấn. Và không có dịch vụ cho thuê xe tại Angkor.

Chúng tôi vào một nhà hàng để ăn sáng, và tôi lần đầu tiên ăn thử món Quốc gia của Campuchia: Cà ri cá với giá 3.5USD.

I enjoyed the way to go to Angkor, lots of aged trees, it’s green, cool and really relaxing. I even saw monkey. We walked and climbed to visit the Angkor. In one temple, the guards/polices there greeted us and told us to open our camera on phone toward the broken piece on the wall. The combination of this broken piece with the tower in the temple make them looks like beautiful candle. Then he asked us if we want to take pictures. I just think that it’s a friendly action and just to welcome visitors, so I agreed. Once the pics are done, he asked us for money. Jordan gave him 1USD, then I also gave him 1USD. But I didn’t appreciate that action. If I would know that he did it to ask for money, I didn’t take that picture. Guards/Polices are there to protect the heritage, not to find a way to earn money from visitors.

Tôi rất thích con đường dẫn đến Angkor, rất nhiều cây lâu năm, đường đầy màu xanh, rất mát và khoan khoái. Tôi thậm chí nhìn thấy cả khỉ. Chúng tôi phải đi bộ và leo trèo để thăm Angkor. Khi đến một ngôi đền, bảo vệ/cảnh sát ở đó chào đón chúng tôi và bảo chúng tôi mở máy ảnh trên điện thoại hướng đến mảnh vỡ phía trên tường. Sự kết hợp của mảnh vỡ này với ngọn tháp phía dưới làm cho chúng trông giống như một ngọn nến lung linh. Rồi anh bảo vệ hỏi chúng tôi có muốn chụp ảnh giúp không. Tôi nghĩ rằng đó chỉ là một hành động thiện chí để chào đón khách, nên tôi đồng ý.

On the way go back to hotel, we passed by a travel agency to book my Giant Ibis ticket to go back to Phnom Penh that night. It’s same price, 15USD.

I entered the hotel when the people in the hotel were having lunch. The way they eat looks like Filipinos, they also use plates and also eat by hands. The people there are very friendly, specially the owner of the hotel – Phally. I couldn’t recognize that she’s the boss if no one tells me. They are just like friends, everyone is being treated the same here. Phally also told me that she experienced the family atmosphere the most when she gave birth to her son. Her staffs really took care of her in the hospital and at home. Phally is also very open and shared to me lots of stories. She introduced to me a dessert which I can find in market, and told me that normally products/souvenirs here are from Thailand, China or Vietnam. She’s also very enthusiasm to show me how to go to Giant Ibis office in the evening. She provided me any info I need as I am her own guest, while I didn’t pay (only Solina and Jordan paid). I tried some fried crickets here, and it tasted quite good.

Trên đường về khách sạn, chúng tôi ghé qua văn phòng một đại lý du lịch để đặt vé xe khách về lại Phnom Penh tối hôm đó cho tôi. Vé cùng giá với lượt đi, 15USD.

Tôi bước vào khách sạn khi những người làm việc ở đó đang ăn trưa. Cách họ ăn trông giống người Philippines, cũng dùng đĩa và ăn bốc. Mọi người ở đó rất thân thiện, đặc biệt là Phally – chủ khách sạn. Tôi không thể nhận ra chị ấy là chủ nếu không có ai nói. Họ trông giống như bạn bè, ai cũng được đối xử bình đẳng ở đây. Phally cũng kể với tôi là chị ấy trải nghiệm không khí gia đình khi chị ấy sinh con trai. Nhân viên của chị ấy chăm sóc chị ấy từ ở bệnh viện đến về nhà. Phally rất cởi mở và chia sẻ với tôi rất nhiều chuyện. Chị ấy giới thiệu cho tôi một món tráng miệng có thể tìm trong chợ, và bảo tôi là thông thường các món hàng/đồ lưu niệm ở đây có nguồn gốc từ Thái Lan, Trung Quốc hay Việt Nam. Chị ấy cũng rất nhiệt tình chỉ cho tôi cách đi tới văn phòng Giant Ibis vào buổi tối. Chị ấy cho tôi bất cứ thông tin nào tôi cần, như thể tôi là khách của chị ấy, trong khi tôi không trả tiền (chỉ có Solina and Jordan trả tiền). Tôi thử ăn mấy con dế rang ở đây, mùi vị khá ngon.

We had dinner at Lim Kim Cheng restaurant, it’s near the market and has the most reasonable price. The dishes are usually from 1.5USD to 3.5USD. Surprisingly, they have a big menu which looks like offer hundred of dishes. Solina and me spoke to each other that we don’t believe they have all of those foods, but when we asked the waiter, he said they have all the foods. And yes, the 4 dishes we ordered, they were able to provide.

Solina and Jordan sent me to Giant Ibis office. It’s very convenient, from The Purple Mangosteen Hotel, we just walked around 200m to get to their office. I was so glad that I didn’t need to go back to the bus terminal. Giant Ibis office in Siem Reap’s address is 252, St. Sivatha, Vihea Chen, Svay Dangkum. Phone no: 063 768 809/ 095 777 809

Chúng tôi ăn tối ở nhà hàng Lim Kim Cheng gần chợ, giá cả rất phải chăng. Các món ăn thường có giá từ 1.5USD đến 3.5USD. Ngạc nhiên thay, họ có một quyển thực đơn to có đến hàng trăm món ăn. Solina và tôi bảo nhau chắc họ không thể có hết bằng đó món đâu, nhưng khi chúng tôi hỏi anh phục vụ, anh ấy nói là họ có hết. Và 4 món mà chúng tôi gọi, họ đều mang ra.

Solina và Jordan đi cùng tôi đến văn phòng Giang Ibis. Rất thuận tiện, từ khách sạn, chúng tôi chỉ đi bộ khoảng 200m. Tôi rất vui vì tôi không phải quay lại bến xe bus. Địa chỉ văn phòng Giant Ibis ở Siem Reap là 252, đường Sivatha, Vihea Chen, Svay Dangkum. Số điện thoại: 063 768 809/ 095 777 809

Jun 23:

The bus arrived by 5:30 am at Phnom Penh. I started my own day by discover the internal bus system of the city and I’m glad I did it. Before going to Cambodia, I tried to find info about bus in Phnom Penh on internet, but the answer was almost zero.

I got into bus no. 3 and talked with the conductor of the bus – Sukula Ka. He’s a student, study about Environment Studies, and his schedule at University is 2pm-5pm so he can work in the morning.

He told me that the bus system in Phnom Penh is very new. It’s just started on Aug 15, 2014 and it’s his first day of work as well. Currently, there are only 3 bus lines in this city.

Line 1: from Roeseykeo to Chary Hospital.

Line 2: from Night Market to Takhmeo

Xe khách đến Phnom Penh lúc 5:30 sáng. Tôi bắt đầu ngày của riêng mình bằng cách khám phá hệ thống xe bus của thành phố, và tôi vui vì đã làm vậy. Trước khi đi Campuchia, tôi cố gắng tìm thông tin về xe bus tại Phnom Penh trên internet, nhưng câu trả lời gần như là không.

Tôi lên xe bus số 3 và nói chuyện với phụ xe. Phụ xe là một em sinh viên tên là Sukula Ka học ngành Nghiên cứu Môi trường, thời gian học từ 2h chiều đến 5h chiều nên có thể làm việc vào buổi sáng.

Cậu ấy bảo tôi là hệ thống xe bus của Phnom Penh rất mới, chỉ mới bắt đầu vào tháng 8/2014 và đó cũng là ngày đầu tiên cậu ấy làm việc. Hiện tại chỉ có 3 tuyến xe.

Tuyến 1: từ Roeseykeo tới Bệnh viện Chary.

Tuyến 2: từ Chợ Đêm đến Takhmeo.

Line 3: from Night Market to Chom Chav roundabout.

Tuyến 3: từ Chợ đêm đến Vòng xoay Chom Chav

Lists of bus stops for Line 3: Night Market, Pspar Chas Park, Ang Duong hospital, Kampuchea Krom Intersection, Sydney Super Market, Nan Ching Intersection, Le President Hotel, Santhor Muk Primary School, 261 Intersection, 7 Makara Over Fly, Boyoung Town, Phnom Penh Water Park, Tuek Thla Pagoda, Hun Sen Baurei 100 Khnang Primary School, Pochentong Restaurant, Hun Sen Pochentong Primary School, Plaza Market, Sangkat Kabab, Pochentong International Airport, Prince Town, Dong Nangkol, Sophea Khun pagoda, Chom Chav Roundabout.

The way back: Chom Chav Roundabout, Sophea Khun pagoda, Dong Nangkol, Prince Town, Pochentong International Airport,Sangkat Kabab, Plaza Market, Hun Sen Pochentong Primary School, Pochentong Restaurant, Hun Sen Baurei 100 Khnang Primary School, Tuek Thla Pagoda, Phnom Penh Water Park, Boyoung Town, 7 Makara Over Fly, 261 Intersection, Santhor Muk Primary School, Le President Hotel, Nan Ching Intersection, Sydney Super Market, Kampuchea Krom Intersection, Central Market, Pspar Chas Park, Night Market.

Operation Hours: 5:30AM to 8:30Pm

The bus fare is just 1,500 Riel. (I gave him 1USD and he gave me chance of 2,500 Riel)

The bus here is free for students (as long as they have student IDs)

Thời gian hoạt động từ 5:30 sáng đến 8:30 tối.

Giá vé là 1,500 Riel. (Tôi đưa cậu ấy 1USD và cậu ấy trả lại tôi 2,500 Riel)

Xe bus ở đây miễn phí cho học sinh, sinh viên (miễn là có thẻ)

I arrived at the airport, has my chicken rice for 1.5USD, had a look into the airport, then go back. I stopped at Central Market (Phsar Thmei), bought some Palm Sugar from a Vietnamese lady. So I paid by VND, 50,000 VND for 5 pieces. Each pieces inside banana leaves which have around 4 smaller pieces inside.

I walked around to observe people’s lives. I went into a public market, got interested in Cơm lam – bamboo cooked rice. Since I don’t speak Khmer and the seller doesn’t speak English, she told me the price by taking 1,500 Riel cashes out of her pocket. I paid for it and I’m glad I did it. The sticky rice with peanut and white bean inside tasted so good.

Tôi dừng lại tại sân bay, ăn sáng bằng món cơm gà 1.5USD, ngó nghiêng sân bay một lúc, rồi đi về. Tôi dừng ở chợ Trung tâm (trong tiếng Khmer là Phsar Thmei), và mua một ít đường thốt nốt từ một cô người Việt. Tôi trả bằng tiền Việt, 50,000 cho 5 cây đường, mỗi cây đều bọc bằng lá chuối và có 4 miếng đường bên trong.

Tôi đi bộ loanh quanh để quan sát đời sống con người. Tôi đi vào chợ, thấy có bán ống cơm lam. Vì tôi không nói tiếng Khmer và người bán không nói tiếng Anh, cô ấy nói giá với tôi bằng cách giơ mấy tờ tiền đủ giá trị 1,500 Riel ra. Tôi mua ống cơm lam và vui vì đã mua nó. Cơm nếp với lạc và đậu trắng ở trong có vị rất ngon.

In Kiwi Mart, there are some Vietnamese products, like Kinh Do snacks or Vinamilk yogurts.

There are lots of monks on the streets here, that’s different with Vietnam.

Ở Kiwi Mart, có một vài sản phẩm Việt Nam, như là bánh Kinh Đô hay sữa chua Vinamilk.

Ở đây có khá nhiều nhà sư đi lại trên đường.

I got into Wat Ounalom, sitting down on floor, observed people to just feel it. I even felt asleep.

Booking bus ticket back to HCMc: There are plenty of choices for buses coming back HCMc. I selected Khai Nam since only this bus company has the departure time I want: 12 noon. The price is cheapest: 9USD. But I was not after the price, seriously. I just wanted a time which I can arrive not too late to go back to my place by bus no. 152 after arrive in HCMc, and have some more time to spend in Cambodia. I asked the girl at Worldwide Exchange & Travel Tour (no.40Eo, Street 172) where will the bus stop in HCMc. She called to ask someone then told me: Pham Ngu Lao area. Since that’s what I expected, I paid for my ticket. But finally, the bus didn’t arrive at Pham Ngu Lao area, District 1 as other buses. It arrived at its own office: no. 163 Le Hong Phong street, Ward 3, District 5.

I don’t recommend Khai Nam bus service for those who seek quality, comfortability and professionalism.

(To be edited or continued)

Tôi vào chùa Ounalom, ngồi xuống sàn, quan sát mọi người và cảm nhận nó. Tôi thậm chí đã ngủ gật.

Đặt vé về TPHCM: Có rất nhiều lựa chọn. Tôi chọn hãng Khải Nam vì mỗi hãng này có giờ khởi hành tôi muốn: 12h trưa. Giá vé thấp nhất 9USD. Nhưng tôi không chạy theo giá, nghiêm túc mà nói. Tôi chỉ muốn giờ đó vì nó giúp tôi về TPHCM vẫn còn đủ thời gian bắt bus 152 về nhà, và có thêm thời gian chơi ở Phnom Penh. Tôi hỏi người làm việc tại Worldwide Exchange & Travel Tour (số 40Eo, phố 172) là xe sẽ dừng ở đâu ở TPHCM. Cô ấy gọi điện cho ai đó để hỏi và nói: khu vực Phạm Ngũ Lão. Vì vậy tôi yên tâm đặt vé. Nhưng cuối cùng xe không về đó như các xe khác. Nó về văn phòng của nó ở số 163 đường Lê Hồng Phong, phường 3, quận 5.

Tôi không khuyên những ai tìm kiếm chất lượng, sự thoải mái và chuyên nghiệp đi xe bus Khải Nam.

(Tiếp tục chỉnh sửa hoặc thêm nội dung)

4 thoughts on “3 days in Cambodia

  1. That would be nice to do a side trip to Cambodia when I am in Vietnam, and with TST travelling there, it is convenient and rather cheap.
    Thanks for the review of return bus service to Vietnam.

  2. Great blog, really detailed! I came here from your comment on Tripadvisor, because I was wary of the night bus ticket on giant Ibis that I ordered going from siem reap to pp. I didn’t know there was a public bus that went to the airport either.

  3. Thanks for the write up with regards to the night bus…..By the way, is it safe to leave your belongings with the giant ibis office at PP? I’ll be going to Siem Reap from PP and will be like you, with some time to spare before the 11pm night bus…. so moving around with the luggage will be a little inconvenient thou.

    Regards
    Carol

  4. Hi Carolyn,

    My 2 companions (the 2 French) and me had good experiences of leaving our luggages there. As I remember, they issued us tickets for our luggages. And obviously, I just left my clothes and toiletries, bring with me all the money, phone & passport.

Tell me what you think

